Excellence Rewarded at Pump Industry Awards

The Pump Industry Awards is now recognised as one of the leading award ceremonies within the industrial arena. Founded by the British Pump Manufacturers Association in 2000, the awards celebrate the achievements of pump companies and individuals who strive to go the extra mile.

The annual awards dinner celebrates the industry’s best and brightest with the bonus of excellent networking opportunities, fantastic hospitality and great entertainment.


The BPMA once again partnered with leading brands in the pumps sector to bring the 2019 awards programme to market, including ABB, John Crane, Process Engineering, Siemens, SPP Pumps, Tapflo, Tomlinson Hall, WEG, Wilo, World Pumps and Xylem Water Solutions.


Held at the Heythrop Park Resort in Oxfordshire on Thursday 21st March the awards evening was attended by some 200 pump industry professionals who in addition to enjoying the awards presentations, raised over £4000.00 for WaterAid, the BPMA’s chosen Charity, through a Raffle and impromptu Auction.


The evening encouraged a great deal of networking in a competitive but friendly atmosphere, during which the 2019 winners were revealed by celebrity compère, television and radio presenter, Penny Smith.

Speaking after the awards, Steve Schofield, Director and CEO at the BPMA commented, “We are delighted that the Pump Industry Awards are so valued by our industry, and that each year we are able to recognise and reward the excellent work that it undertakes on behalf of pump users across the world.  Honouring the people, products, projects and companies who’s engineering acumen continues to propel the sector forward is fundamental to the ethos of the BPMA, and once again the judging panel had a really challenging task, given that all the entries were of such a high calibre.  So, our sincere congratulations go to all the winners, who’s credentials really were tested against the industry’s best.”


This sentiment was echoed by Wayne Rose, who accepted the ‘Environmental Contribution of the Year’ Award on behalf of Armstrong Fluid Technology. He said, “These awards are particularly important to our industry because, focusing entirely on pump technology, they celebrate the achievements of the world’s very best fluid technology design engineers. We are extremely proud that our Tango Parallel Pumping solution has been selected to receive this award, from a shortlist of outstanding examples of new product design.”


Reuben D’Orton-Gibson of SPP Pumps, who took home the coveted ‘Engineer

of the Year’ Award, commented, “The 2019 Pump Industry Awards was a very enjoyable evening and a great opportunity to make and maintain connections across the industry. I was delighted to be awarded ‘Engineer of the Year’ and proud that SPP Pumps was a Finalist in the ‘Manufacturer of the Year’ category.”


Jason Howlett, Managing Director at Xylem Water Solutions UK added, “It was a pleasure to attend this year’s Pump Industry Awards, the whole team thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We were proud to support the 2019 event and delighted to take away the ‘Product of the Year’ award for our innovative Flygt Concertor.”


Sharon George of Stuart Turner Ltd, concluded, “The Pump Industry Awards provide a great platform to celebrate innovation and excellence across the industry and we were delighted to be recognised as Finalists.


The 2019 Category Winners


The 2019 awards categories focused on key areas of manufacture and supply, including innovation and achievement, energy saving, engineering excellence, customer care and employee motivation.


On the night, seven companies and two individuals were awarded, as follows:


Product of the Year

Sponsored by: Process Engineering

Presented by: Mike Turner, Commercial Director, Process Engineering

Winner: Xylem Water Solutions’ Flygt Concertor XPC


Project of the Year

Sponsored by: Wilo

Presented by: Simon Oakes, Sales Director, Water Management & Industry, Wilo UK

Winner: Campion Pumps and Irish Water for the Inniscarra Dam Project


Environmental Contribution of the Year

Sponsored by: SPP Pumps

Presented by: Richard Wingate, Operations Director, SPP Pumps
Winner: Armstrong Fluid Technology for the Armstrong Tango Parallel Pumping Solution


Manufacturer of the Year

Sponsored by: Siemens

Presented by: Julijana Ristov, Global Account Manager, Siemens
Winner: Wilo UK


Distributor of the Year

Sponsored by: WEG

Presented by: Patrick O’Neill, Managing Director, WEG UK

Winner: Tomlinson Hall & Co


Supplier of the Year

Sponsored by: Xylem Water Solutions

Presented by: Jason Howlett, Managing Director, Xylem Water Solutions

Winner: John Crane UK



Engineer of the Year

Sponsored by: World Pumps

Presented by: Alan Burrows, Editor, World Pumps

Winner: Reuben D’Orton-Gibson, SPP Pumps


Judges Special Award

Sponsored by: Tomlinson Hall & Co

Presented by: Colin Simpson, Business Development Director, Tomlinson Hall & Co

Winner: Siemens


Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by: BPMA

Presented by: Richard Harden, President, BPMA

Winner: Tony Keville, Managing Director of Tomlinson Hall & Co


For further information about the 2019 Pump Industry Awards, and to view the photo gallery please visit the website at https://pumpindustryawards.com.


If you are interested in sponsoring, nominating and/or attending the 2020 event please contact Andrew Castle at [email protected].

Automation Update